Vegan Cheese: All You Need To Know About It


Veganism avoids the exploitation of animals for meat, dairy and dairy products at all costs. The emphasis is on a diet that cuts into the profit of varying food industries that exploit animals to produce meat and dairy. The ultimate aim is that veganism will be popular to a degree wherein industries that exploit animals for food and various other products, will become unviable. That’s why many choose vegan cheese.

Why Not Normal Cheese?

With this in mind, all vegans reject traditional cheese derived from cow or goat’s milk altogether. For vegans, traditional cheese is not an option, but like a lot of vegan foods, there is an alternative to the traditional one that is animal-cruelty free. This brings us to the subject of vegan cheese. Read further to know more.

Vegan Cheese: All You Need To Know About It
All You Need To Know About It

Why Vegan Cheese?

The argument that supports the existence of vegan cheese is the well-known exploitation of bovine animals in the dairy industry. While veganism is an option and a lifestyle that you cannot impose on anyone, but it has its own merits and basis as well. Moreover, it is impossible to ignore the fact that the dairy industry does exploit cows and goats to get their milk. This milk is then brought into use for cheese production, among other things.

The cows and goats that produce milk, which these industry types depend upon, are often kept in dismal conditions and the worst-case scenario, they often ill-treated and exposed to cruelty. For vegans, this is a legitimate reason to give up the consumption of dairy and dairy products like cheese, a dietary choice that rejects cruelty to animals in any form.

Vegan Cheese: All You Need To Know About It
Vegan Cheese: All You Need To Know About It

What Is Vegan Cheese?

Vegan cheese is a replication of dairy cheese, with similar consistency and flavors, minus milk, which is the primary source, from which traditional cheese is produced. Moreover, it is derived from the fermenting of plant milk, just like dairy cheese is produced. In addition, this cheese is made from soy milk, nuts, tapioca, seeds such as sesame, sunflower and other plant sources. As mentioned before, vegan attempts to replicate the flavor and consistency of dairy and as such, these foods products are available as spreads, blocks, and slices, just like dairy one.

Moreover, just like dairy cheese, you can always make use it as pizza toppings or as your pasta’s primary ingredient. In fact, you can use it in the same way traditional cheese is used in cooking. Many variations of vegan are available in the market. Infact, the overriding idea is to have access to a similar yet cruelty-free alternative to dairy cheese.

The Rising Popularity

Cheese is popular among vegans all over the world. It is the standard alternative to dairy cheese. Moreover, you can regularly use it in a wide range of vegan cuisine. However, many individuals who are lactose intolerant adopt the consumption of vegan over traditional. The reason is that having traditional cheese can result in digestive issues. Moreover, vegan is healthy and does not result in excessive calorie intake, as is the case with dairy one. Consider the merits of vegan cheese today.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter